Inspiration at the Dentist Office

That’s an odd combination, you say. Yes, I agree.

IMG_20170526_133906

Last week I saw a watercolor post on my facebook group Maremi’s Creative Cafe. It was beautiful. I love to doodle on abstract watercolor backgrounds. The watercolor was similar to the one above. The posted one was painted by Ximena Griffieon. I didn’t want to copy her .

My watercolor is brighter. Hers was more dramatic. Her turtle is a partial corner diver. Mine is headed upwards.

I painted the watercolor. Once it was dry, I packed it into my bag that I carry when I have a few minutes to fill. A week past, I wondered if I would ever find the time.

Friday, my youngest son had a dentist appointment to fill his first cavities. Good and bad, it’s good to be getting them taken care and bad that he got them in the first place. At least he was seventeen before he had any.

I am a very nervous mother. I had my husband go with us. My son is very independent. He was okay with me sitting out in the waiting room but I struggled with my feelings of being inadequate.

After my son left with the dentist, I reached down into my bag and felt the watercolor ready to be finished. Excitement cursed through me. I searched sea turtle images on Bing to get a reference photo. Then I began my drawing. Time flew.

When my son walked out into the waiting room, I was relaxed and mostly done with the watercolor and gel pen Sea Turtle.

Hope you enjoy!

Kimberhew

 

