Mom’s Typerwriter

32748005654_0bcb3f5203_o

Since my mom’s ruptured brain aneurysm, we have been slowly helping her clean out the basement. It has been a catch all for all the treasures from my grandparent’s passing and my mom’s only sister.

My daughter and I are writers and aspiring authors. While I earn a small amount from my writing, I am not where I want to be. I have self published two “books.” One is a children’s book, “The Case of the Missing Mother”. It’s a gentle tale about a little girl who gets lost but from her perspective her mother is the one lost. The second one, “Sideways” is a fanfic based on the Wayward Pines book series by Blake Crouch.

I also loved doing mixed media art. In my online group, several artworks used typewritten quotes. I really loved the look and wanted to try it. I found a local craft store that had new typewriters for $200. Ouch!

My parents had purchased an electric typewriter for my sister and I while we were in high school (now, I am telling my age, oops!) I knew they would never get rid of it. So, I asked them about it. Not sure where it is but dad found mom’s. I was cautiously optimist. All it needed was a ribbon. Score!

Now all I need are stronger fingers. It takes quite a bit to operate it. My next post should include a #52CafeCards card that I created using typing as an element on it.

What is your favorite family hand-me down? Please reply in the comments.

Blessings,

Kimberhew